Posted in Fashion on a Budget, Places

Fashion on a Budget returns

Hey there, fellow fashionistas 🙂

Yes, FoaB is back from it’s forced break, and it is NOT short on goodies!!!!!

Today, I have more Cynful delights, a mish mash of goodies and a little summer dress. Whilst I have not been able to blog for the past week and a bit, I have got some yuy freebies/cheapies, and it is not just clothes this time. I got some unusual eyes free & cheap at House of Ruin, and a group gift sent to all members of the Belleza group, the new Alyson skin, and some new hair, from a store that I had been to before but didn’t buy anything until now, Magika.

The first outfit is the 2009 Christmas dollarbie from [Cynful]. It is a multiple option outfit, as there is a no-lace corset and a corset with white lace included in the set. The pants came with sculpted bottoms, which meant that I could wear short ankle boots such as the Lombardy Booties from Indi Designs.

In keeping with the vintage feel of the outfit, I had to find a suitable hair. I would usually go to Ingenue, but they have hair styles from the 1940s & 1950s, which are not really what I wanted. While I was Magika, after having tp’d there to get the 14 free hairstyles, I wandered round and found this hair, called Fedora. I got the Mono pack which has 3 black and 2 white hairs. (Please note the hat is NOT separate to the hair!!!)

I decided to keep the jewellery simply and chose my favourite Uzuri necklace, with a bangle & earrings from Baubles.

Looking at the credits, you would be asking, ‘Why put the Fedora hair with the cheapies/freebies?’  My answer is: Some places in SL sell single hairs for that or more (one I know of sells singles for 400L$!!!!), and others in packs at a lower price. So you pay 199L$ for a pack of 5 colours, that is almost 40L$ a colour!!!!  Simples!  😀

My next outfit is a mish mash of stuff from my inventory and recent purchases. The trousers (or pants to you Americans) are from VUI, which I paired up with a bustier from *Fishy Strawberry* & a shirt from Zaara. I chose my favourite trainers, the Harry trainers, from Ducknipple — I just love these…. So comfortable and easy to wear.

I tried on several hair styles and eventually settled on the Biji freebie hair from Magika. It seemed right, and it kept to the casualness of the outfit. I started doing the Shoes And Accessories Hunt, which involves 200 or so stores. The starting point is Hoorenbeck (search for [h]), and their offering was the unisex Risky Glasses. These are just basic sunglasses without any colour change etc options, and also come with multiple attachment points.

My final outfit for today is a free gift from So Many Styles: a simple summer dress. The dress comes in 2 different versions, white/blue and white/pink. I chose the white/blue version, as blue is the colour of my birth stone (sapphire) and is my faourite colour.

Decided to check out a store that I had been told about by fellow members of the Fab Free group — Vignette. The hair available at this store is free!!!! I chose the Raquel hair as it felt more summery than the other hair styles available. As I am usually a red head in SL (which is the opposite of me in RL :P), I picked the reds pack as almost all stores sell various shades of red — some sell the really red hairs (in shades like ‘ketchup’ or ‘glace cherry’) and others the darker shades (like ‘maroon’ or ‘brick’) — so that I have a selection to ponder over when I pick my next outfit, lol.

Gives myself a big pat on the back….. At last I have more freebies/cheapies than expensive items in the credits. YAY!!!!!  Although I am not keeping score, lol.

Credits

*Free/Cheap*

Eyes – Aurora – Poetic Colors  0L$

Eyes – Shadow Series, Spring (pale) – House of Ruin    20L$

Hair – Biji (Red D) – Magika     0L$

Hair – Fedora (Black C) – Magika     199L$ fatpack of 5

Hair – [V] Raquel (Brick) – Vignette    0L$

Corset overall (black lace option) – [Cynful]     Christmas dollarbie (1L$)

Summer dress (white/blue) – {SMS}    0L$

Material Girl Bustier (brass) – *Fishy Strawberry*      50L$

Hippies pants (plain) – VUI     50L$

Everyday Wood Bangle (ironwood) – Baubles      3oL$ for fatpack of 12

Wooden Diamond earrings (ironwood) – Baubles   75L$ for fatpack of 4

Risky glasses – [h]      Shoes And Accessories Hunt   0L$

*Not Free/Cheap*

Skin – Alyson ( Tan & Sunkissed, cleavage options) – Belleza     group gift   (250L$ joining fee!!!)

Clothes – Isis shirt (mocha) – Zaara

Lomardy Booties (burgundy) – Indi Designs

Tam 2 Sandals (white) – Lathilla Heels

Harry trainers (grunge) – Ducknipple

Tattoo – Reitou – Tiki Tattoo

Locations = Rouge Forest and Forest Feast.

These can be found under Hot Spots on the Showcase tab of SL Search.

One thought on “Fashion on a Budget returns

Leave a Reply

